Tuesday, December 15, 2015

Review:Can't Hold Back by Serena Bell

In this tender military romance from the bestselling author of Hold on Tight—perfect for fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery—a war-shattered veteran gets a second chance at love with the one that got away.

No girl can resist a man in uniform—especially if that man is Nate Riordan. But after an injury in the line of duty leaves Nate broken, body and soul, the soldier finds himself addicted to his pain meds, with no place to call home. Desperate for an escape, Nate reluctantly accepts a friend’s invitation to a new veterans’ retreat. Expecting a little R&R, Nate is shocked when the sight of his physical therapist opens up another old wound: heartbreak.

Years ago, Alia Drake fell hard for Nate, but never made her move. Instead, she set up her sister with the sexy, confident military man, a foolish decision that continues to haunt all three of them. Now, with Nate as her patient, she can make things right—even if it means getting too close for comfort. A healing touch and a little honesty work wonders, fueling a physical intimacy that crosses professional boundaries. This time, with desire in the air once more, Alia won’t hold anything back.


Buy Links


AmazoniBooks |   Barnes & Noble 
 
Books a Million |    Google Play  |     Kobo
 
What I thought about Can't Hold Back
Nate Riordan returns from his tour of duty a broken man.  Not only did he suffer a devastating injury, he lost friends too. His sense of honor has him promising himself to take care of those he left behind, and to do that, he's got to learn how to handle the physical pain that wracks his body.  But while his physical therapist helps him deal with the pain, she also has some history with Nate that he is struggling to get over.

Alia was immediately attracted to Nate when she met him before he left for war, but instead of letting their mutual attraction grow, she sets her sister up with him. That was a big what-the-feck moment in this book, but I got it, too. I like that these characters aren't one dimensional and that their motivations aren't always clear, even to themselves.

The attraction between Nate and Alia never died, though, and when she becomes his physical therapist there are some very heated moments, which I loved in this book. These two are hot for each other but it takes a while for them to figure out what they really want in their lives, which only makes the conclusion that much more satisfying.

Serena Bell's smooth writing and the emotional content of this book put Can't Hold Back high on my list of favorite military themed romances in 2015.
 
ARC provided for review.


About the Author
USA Today bestselling author Serena Bell writes richly emotional stories about big-hearted characters with real troubles and the people who are strong and generous enough to love them.

Serena loves to embrace new hobbies, and has at various times enjoyed birdwatching, backpacking, violin, Ultimate Frisbee, skiing, tennis, ice-skating, dance, needlepoint, kayaking, paddleboarding, meditating, and swimming laps—to name just a few.

Her supportive husband lovingly accepts each new hobby and all the equipment it requires, and her two school-aged children provide opportunities to explore new activities like coaching basketball and remembering just how much math she’s forgotten. 

No comments: